purchase, george & murphey.
purchase, george & murphey.
Not your first DUI? Being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Pennsylvania is challenging enough. You face fines, loss of your license, possible jail time, other penalties, and what the law calls “collateral consequences.” Worse yet, being convicted of a second or third (or more) DUI charge means that you will face even more severe penalties in Pennsylvania, sometimes called “sentencing enhancements.”
You shouldn’t give up, and neither will we. An experienced DUI defense lawyer may be able to identify issues in a second or third DUI that can help you defeat, or at least minimize, such harsh penalties. At the Erie, Pennsylvania law firm of Purchase, George & Murphey, P.C., we understand the issues and complications that arise from previous DUI convictions. We will explain your options and then work hard to obtain the best result possible for you.
This form is fully confidential. We will safeguard your privacy and reputation. We will contact you within 24 hours. If you need immediate assistance, please call our office: 814.273.2010
"Professional, honest, hard-working and made the entire process a lot less stressful."
Gregory F., July 2021 / Former Client
"We really appreciate Tim taking the time to consult with us. He was very professional and had great advice. We really appreciate it."
Leonid K., May 2021 / Former Client
What happens when you have an earlier DUI conviction depends upon a number of factors. How long ago did earlier DUI convictions occur? What was your BAC? Did the DUI cause injury to anyone or result in property damage? These and other factors affect the mandatory minimum prison sentence, the statutory maximum sentence, and the length of a driver’s license suspension.
A second or subsequent DUI conviction can result in a first degree misdemeanor with a prison sentence of up to 5 years, fines of up to $10,000, and a driver’s license suspension of up to 18 months. An even more difficult challenge for second and subsequent DUI offenders is the mandatory minimum sentence that judges must impose. The mandatory prison sentence in your DUI case could range from 48 hours in prison to one year in prison, depending upon the number of previous DUI convictions on your criminal record and the level of your BAC.
If you are facing drunk driving (DUI) charges again, you deserve an Erie, Pennsylvania DUI attorney who will fight for you. Our lawyers will explain your options and what you can expect moving forward. Call Purchase, George & Murphey, P.C. today at (814) 580-5017, complete our easy contact form, or tell us what happened on Live Chat!
Here is what you’ll learn about how to choose a DUI lawyer in Erie, Meadville, or Warren, Pennsylvania before you waste time calling anyone or missing work to drive across town for a “free consultation.”
The Ultimate Guide for Anyone Charged with DUI in Pennsylvania. Learn what happens next and how you can protect your family, your job, and your freedom.
Although we take great pride in our excellent case results, our greatest satisfaction comes from the kind words shared by our clients. Read what others say about us here.