Rideshare vehicles are a convenient, reliable, and supposedly safe way to get around town. Meeting friends in a new city? Had a few drinks and do not feel comfortable driving? Need a ride to the airport and none of your friends want to be up at 6AM to take you? Rideshares are a viable option for all of the scenarios mentioned above. While there are a ton of reasons to take rideshare vehicles, perhaps the best reason is because they are supposed to be safe. So what happens when your Lyft driver gets into an accident and you are injured? Lyft accidents can be confusing, so let’s go a little further into it.
How Lyft’s Insurance Coverage Works
Whether or not there was a passenger in the car at the time of the accident matters greatly to the injured party. For example, if the Lyft driver has a passenger in their car at the time of the accident, Lyft’s $1,000,000 per accident primary liability insurance covers the situation. However, if there is no passenger in the car at the time, but the Lyft driver was in “driver mode” then Lyft’s contingent liability policy provides $25,000 for property damages, $50,000 per person, and $100,000 per accident. This policy pays out when the driver’s personal insurance denies the claim. However, if a Lyft driver is off duty, then the driver’s personal insurance company will be responsible for any injuries sustained in the crash.
What Should I Do After a Lyft Accident?
Regardless of who you might think is at fault, get all the affected parties’ information. This includes:
- Insurance information
- Contact information
- Driver’s licenses
- License plate numbers
Do your best to get some eyewitness testimonials, take plenty of pictures, and never ever refuse medical treatment. After an accident, your adrenaline is pumping, often causing the severity of your injuries to be masked. A healthcare professional will be able to conduct the necessary tasks to make sure you are not severely injured and/or provide the necessary treatment if you are. Remember, your health and wellbeing should always be at the top of your mind.
Don’t be Afraid to Reach Out to a Lawyer
Just as you should ensure you are healthy, so too should you make sure your legal rights are protected. Pennsylvania has a two-year statute of limitations for filing a claim of this kind. Additionally, in Pennsylvania, there are two major kinds of insurance, full tort and limited tort coverage.
Full tort insurance allows for the policy holder to sue the at fault driver for all damages suffered, including non property damages such as pain and suffering. However, due to Pennsylvania’s comparative negligence law, if you were partially, half, or more than half at-fault, your compensation can be reduced by that percentage. For example, if your payment is $100,000 but you are found to be 50% at fault, then your compensation will be reduced by 50% to $50,000.
Limited tort insurance still allows the suing of the drunk driver, but only allows for pain and suffering compensation if the injury is defined as “permanent and serious impairment of bodily functions or death.” The court decides on a case-by-case basis whether injuries are considered “serious” or not. However, if the at-fault driver pleads guilty to drunk driving, or is convicted of drunk driving, you may still sue for pain and suffering. Having an experienced legal team like Purchase, George & Murphey, P.C. to fight for you is the best way to make sure your rights are fought for in court.
Contact an Erie Personal Injury Lawyer to Discuss Your Lyft Accident Case in Pennsylvania
Did you or a loved one sustain serious injuries due to a motor vehicle accident in Pennsylvania? Don’t let the medical bills pile up while you wait for the negligent party or their insurance company to do the right thing. Right now, you need an aggressive personal injury attorney on your side, fighting to get you the compensation you need, want, and deserve. The skilled attorneys at Purchase, George & Murphey, P.C. represent clients injured because of motor vehicle accidents in Millcreek, Harborcreek, Fairview, Meadville, and throughout Pennsylvania. Call (814) 273-2010 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office conveniently located at 2525 W. 26th St., Erie, PA 16506, as well as offices in Meadville and North East.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.