Two Winter Driving Laws You May Not Know About
In northwest Pennsylvania, snow and ice blanket the region for about a quarter of the year and the law imposes special requirements on drivers that you may not know about. To avoid penalties and be safe, read on for two unique winter driving laws that you may not already be aware of.
In northwest Pennsylvania, snow and ice cover the region for several months each year. As Pennsylvania car accident lawyers representing injured people in the snowiest corner of the Keystone State, we’d like you to know about some of the region’s unique winter driving laws — both so that you can be safe and so that you can avoid the stiff penalties that the law imposes. Drivers in Erie County, Crawford County, Venango County, Mercer County, Warren County, and Forest County should all be aware of these special Pennsylvania winter driving laws.
Diminished Visibility – You know you should have your headlights on when it starts to get dark. But did you know that the law requires you to put your headlights on whenever visibility is diminished, including the middle of the day if it’s snowing? It does and it’s a good idea. Headlights (and tail lights) are important ways of making yourself more visible to other motorists. So, even if they do not necessarily aid in increasing your ability to see, they definitely make it easier to be seen. Plus, you can be fined up to $100 for failure to put your headlights on.
Headlights and Windshield Wipers – One Pennsylvania headlight requirement is tied directly to your windshield wipers. If they’re on, even if they’re on intermittently, you must also have your headlights on. And it’s not enough to put your running lights on because then your tail lights may not be lit.
Brush Off Your Car – Brushing the snow and ice off your car isn’t just a matter of being considerate to other drivers behind you who might otherwise get a blast of snow and ice from your car, it’s an important safety issue and a Pennsylvania traffic law with a hefty fine. Drivers who fail to properly clear their car of ice and snow can be fined between $200 and $1,000 if snow or ice falls from their car and strikes another vehicle or pedestrian, causing injury or death.
The Bottom Line
Safety is always the bottom line when it comes to driving and winter driving is no different. In addition to following these Pennsylvania winter driving laws, drivers should also take a little extra time this winter, go a little slower, and allow a little extra room between vehicles.
If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident in northwest Pennsylvania, the Pennsylvania car accident injury lawyers at Purchase, George & Murphey, P.C. can help. Call today for your free consult at 814-833-7100 or use the online consult form. We’ll help you to get the compensation you need for treatment, for lost wages, and to make up for your losses.