A: The mandatory minimum levels of liability insurance for car owners in Pennsylvania were established in 1974 and have never been adjusted for inflation.  Pennsylvania auto insurance laws currently require car owners to have a minimum of $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident.  An additional $5,000 in property damage liability coverage is required.

These mandatory minimums are among the lowest in the United States.  Here is a chart showing the mandatory minimum coverage levels required in other states.  The coverage is expressed as personal injury liability required per person/per accident/and property damage liability, e.g., Pennsylvania's minimum coverage requirements are expressed $15/$30/$5.

State-by-State Minimum Requirements

  • Alaska 50/100/25
  • Alabama 20/40/10
  • Arkansas 25/50/15
  • Arizona 15/30/10
  • California 15/30/5
  • Colorado 25/50/15
  • Connecticut 20/40/10
  • Delaware 15/30/5
  • Florida 10/20/10
  • Georgia 15/30/10
  • Hawaii 20/40/10
  • Idaho 20/50/15
  • Illinois 20/40/15
  • Indiana 25/50/10
  • Iowa 20/40/15
  • Kansas 25/50/10
  • Kentucky 25/50/10
  • Louisiana 10/20/10
  • Maine 50/100/25
  • Maryland 20/40/10
  • Massachusetts 20/40/5
  • Michigan 20/40/10
  • Minnesota 30/60/10
  • Mississippi 25/50/25
  • Missouri 25/50/10
  • Montana 25/50/10
  • Nebraska 25/50/25
  • New Hampshire 25/50/25
  • New Jersey 15/30/5
  • New Mexico 25/50/10
  • Nevada 15/30/10
  • New York 25/50/10
  • North Carolina 30/60/25
  • North Dakota 25/50/25
  • Ohio 12.5/25/7.5
  • Oklahoma 10/20/10
  • Oregon 25/50/10
  • Pennsylvania 15/30/5
  • Rhode Island 25/50/25
  • South Carolina 25/50/25
  • South Dakota 25/50/25
  • Tennessee 25/50/10
  • Texas 20/40/15
  • Utah 25/65/15
  • Virginia 25/50/20
  • Vermont 25/50/10
  • Washington 25/50/10
  • Wisconsin 25/50/10
  • West Virginia 20/40/10
  • Wyoming 25/50/20

Contact an Erie Injury Lawyer

If you or someone you love has been injured in a Pennsylvania car accident and you have questions about your insurance, you may want to get advice from an Erie insurance lawyer to ensure you're being treated fairly by the insurance company. You may want to speak with an experienced northwest Pennsylvania insurance lawyer . Most Erie injury lawyers offer free consults so it shouldn't cost you anything just to speak with someone.